Genre: Roman

Read in | March 2020

Posted april 2, 2020 by Laurie in Boekenpraat, Booktalk, English / 1 Comment

That March was a strange month is probably the understatement of the decade. In the Netherlands, we got our first case of Covid19 in the last weekend of February, but there was no reason to panic yet. So, life was normal in the first weeks of March. However, that changed on March 12 and even more on March 15. Measures have been taken and rules were implemented. Social distancing became a thing. Many people struggled with reading and this certainly applies to me too. I missed my commute as I had to work at home. However, I started to build in some reading time before and right after work to keep this reading routine. Therefore, I still managed to read a good amount of books in March. Here is what I have been reading!

Read More

Tags:


Review: Jojo Moyes – The giver of stars

Posted januari 18, 2020 by Laurie in English, Recensies, Reviews, Roman / 0 Comments

It has been a few years since I read a book by Jojo Moyes. To be exact, that was Me before you in 2016. After this book, I didn’t pick up any other book by this author, although I bought The horse dancer. In October 2019, The giver of stars was released and this synopsis sounded interesting. Books, horses and horse riding? Count me in!

Read More

Tags:


Review: Nino Haratischwili – The Eighth Life (For Brilka)

Posted december 23, 2019 by Laurie in English, Recensies, Reviews, Roman / 6 Comments

The Eighth life (for Brilka) by Nino Haratischwili kept crossing my path for a while now, maybe a year or two, but I never picked it up. Let’s be honest, it’s a beast of a book, the Dutch version has 1,275 pages. The English one is 300 pages shorter – don’t ask me why -, but I wanted to read this family chronicle i my native language. After reading reviews of Haratischwili’s signing sessions in Amsterdam and The Hague back in November, I caved and bought the book and read it soon after.

Read More

Tags:


Mini reviews: The seven sisters serie by Lucinda Riley

Posted november 4, 2019 by Laurie in English, Recensies, Reviews, Roman / 2 Comments

I’m known for reading a lot of Young Adult books, but I like to expand my horizon and to read different genres as well. It was in September 2018 that I started reading The Seven Sisters by Lucinda Riley, because everyone kept raging about it in a good way and the books were literally everywhere. However, I deleted my first review of the first book because A) it was trash and B) I found it more suitable to write one giant review post with all mini reviews. This blog post will be updated and re-published once I finish The sun sister, which will be out here in February 2020. And then again once the seventh book in this series is out.

Read More

Tags:


Recensie: Lykele Muus – We doen wat we kunnen

Posted september 16, 2019 by Laurie in Recensies, Roman / 0 Comments

De auteur Lykele Muus was voor mij een onbekende. Naast auteur is Lykele Muus theatermaker en acteur, maar ook daar ging geen lampje bij me branden, ik wist niet waar ik hem van zou kunnen kennen. Toen ik het meeleesproject rondom We doen wat we kunnen op Hebban voorbij zag komen werd ik nieuwsgierig. De flaptekst van het boek sprak mij aan, dit moest wel een rollercoaster worden toch?

Read More

Tags:


Recensie: Katherine Center – Mijn Leven Na Jou

Posted augustus 26, 2019 by Laurie in Recensies, Roman / 0 Comments

Het boek Mijn leven na jou van Katherine Center trok meteen mijn aandacht toen ik het ergens voorbij zag komen. Het verhaal klonk interessant en emotioneel, al hoopte ik niet dat het heel erg zou lijken op Voor jou van Jojo Moyes. Over dit boek schrijf ik een bullet point recensie waarin ik laat zien of deze hoop werkelijkheid werd of dat dit een heel ander boek is.

Read More

Tags: